MediStar Awards
  • Home
  • 2014 Winners
    • 2014 Finalists
    • 2014 Nominees
  • Time Line
  • MediStar Legacy
    • Where are they now?
  • Photos
  • Media
    • Press Kit for Finalist and Winner
  • Sponsorship
  • Contact

8 Top-Rated Rehab Facilities, Massachusetts: Substance Abuse Treatment Options to Compare

Eight Massachusetts programs, each summarized with its setting, any third-party rating and its source, and its insurance position, followed by the details that separate them. Ratings are reported exactly as published, and where a program shows none, the entry says so.

Quick picks

Pick

Best for

New Wave Recovery Center

Holistic outpatient care on the North Shore

Recovery Centers of America at Danvers

Detox through evening IOP on one campus

Washburn House

Broad insurance acceptance in Worcester

McLean Hospital

Psychiatric complexity

Eight Programs Compared on the Record

1) New Wave Recovery Center

Quick facts

Setting

Outpatient (PHP, IOP, relapse prevention), Salisbury

Rating

Google reviews linked; no score shown on site

Coverage

WellSense contract; other plans billed as out of network

New Wave builds its schedule around sound and frequency work, Reiki and recovery yoga, with co-founder Melanie Draleau, a Reiki practitioner with 17 years in recovery, among the people delivering it. The center says holistic sessions run every day, which it contrasts with programs that offer them only occasionally, and they sit beside CBT, DBT, motivational interviewing and medication management. Mindfulness, art, animal and experiential therapy and practical skills training complete the holistic list.

Structurally, clients spend about six weeks in day treatment and about three months in IOP, with an evening track, and the center reports that one primary therapist follows them through both. Relapse prevention can add up to six months. Detox is arranged by referral, and the family-owned program is run by owners in long-term recovery.

2) Recovery Centers of America at Danvers

Quick facts

Setting

Detox, inpatient, PHP, IOP, Danvers

Rating

Chain-wide figures only; Newsweek #2 in MA (2025)

Coverage

Most MassHealth plans plus large commercial insurers

RCA's IOP runs a day track from 9:30 am to 1:30 pm and an evening track from 5:00 pm to 8:30 pm, available in person, virtually or as a hybrid for Massachusetts residents. Its full-day program runs 9:30 am to 3:30 pm, five days a week, in person only, and IOP attendance ranges from three to five days.

The 239-bed campus also handles withdrawal over roughly a week and inpatient stays of a month or longer, with on-site MAT ranging from buprenorphine to disulfiram. Review figures it quotes, including more than 2,000 five-star Google reviews, are chain-wide rather than specific to Danvers. Accreditations include The Joint Commission Gold Seal and chain-wide CARF.

3) Washburn House

Quick facts

Setting

Detox, residential, PHP, IOP, Worcester

Rating

RehabNet 4.8 (534); BetterAddictionCare 2.8 (39)

Coverage

Broad commercial list, MassHealth via MBHP, VA care

Washburn's in-network list runs to more than a dozen named carriers and programs, including Tufts Medicaid, Molina Medicaid, Carelon Medicaid and the VA Community Care Network. Commercial coverage includes Aetna, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts, Cigna and several UnitedHealthcare plans, and benefits checks are usually done the same day.

Its ratings diverge by two full points across directories, so they are best read individually. RehabNet also ranked it first in Massachusetts for 2026. Operationally, the site offers four levels of care at one address, MAT and aftercare planning, and admission within a day is frequently available, the company reports.

4) BMC Grayken Center for Addiction

Quick facts

Setting

Office-based treatment, urgent care, consults, Boston

Rating

Not shown

Coverage

MassHealth, WellSense, commercial

Grayken records about 2,500 patient visits a month across its programs at New England's largest safety-net hospital. Services include medication treatment, the Faster Paths opioid urgent care and programs for pregnancy and pediatrics, with more than 120 babies a year born to mothers in the RESPECT program.

No residential or day program is offered. Clinic care covers buprenorphine, naltrexone and methadone initiation, an inpatient consult service reaches hospitalized patients, and naloxone is stocked at every BMC pharmacy. The center was founded in 2017 with a $25 million gift.

5) McLean Hospital

Quick facts

Setting

Detox, residential, partial hospital, Belmont, Petersham, Princeton

Rating

Not shown; Newsweek: Fernside #1 (2024, 2025)

Coverage

Insurers for Belmont and Naukeag; private pay at Fernside

McLean's Fernside costs $70,500 for 30 days, self-pay only, the only published price among these eight. Insurance-based programs in Belmont and Petersham usually require precertification.

McLean notes that MassHealth pays only for outpatient addiction care there. Belmont's program overview lists a 21-bed detox unit and Naukeag 30 residential and partial hospital beds, both as of a 2021 document. No IOP or evening program is described, and a LEADER track serves first responders.

6) Refresh Recovery & Wellness

Quick facts

Setting

PHP, IOP, outpatient, Norwell and virtual

Rating

Not shown; self-described as top-rated in its own podcast

Coverage

Most major plans, per the company; MassHealth not stated

Refresh's full-day stage meets five or six days weekly and usually wraps up within a month, and its half-day IOP meets three to five days weekly for one to two months, with separate men's and women's groups and an online option.

No accreditor is named on its site. The therapy list includes EMDR, trauma therapy and music therapy, a psychiatric team supports dual diagnosis, and detox is arranged through outside placement. Admissions run 24/7.

7) Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital

Quick facts

Setting

Hospital detox, daytime and evening programs, clinic, Jamaica Plain

Rating

Not shown

Coverage

Public and private plans, per outside records

Brigham's weekday day program wraps up before 3 pm, and its evening program gathers small groups, nine people at most, on three nights over a fortnight.

There is no residential level. Withdrawal care happens on a unit linked to general medicine, and the clinic prescribes for alcohol, opioid and nicotine dependence. The Division of Addiction Psychiatry is directed by Joji Suzuki, MD, MSc.

8) Serenity at Summit Haverhill

Quick facts

Setting

Five-level continuum, Haverhill

Rating

RehabNet 4.4 (268)

Coverage

Commercial and Medicaid, as the company states

Serenity's residential stays typically last 30 to 90 days, preceded by detox and clinical stabilization and followed by PHP, IOP and sober living homes. Medication treatment is offered, and its co-occurring disorders program lists OCD alongside mood and trauma conditions.

Staff credentials and prices are not published. The company reports Joint Commission accreditation for Haverhill and offers payment plans and financial assistance to uninsured clients. Therapy includes CBT, DBT and REBT alongside yoga and nutrition counseling.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does "top-rated" mean for a rehab?

Usually a directory average or a ranking. Sources differ, so check where any rating comes from and how many reviews support it. A score based on 39 reviews and one based on 534 carry different weight.

Which programs publish prices?

Among these eight, only McLean's Fernside does, at $70,500 for 30 days. Others quote costs after a benefits check.

Which programs offer evening outpatient care?

Evening IOP groups exist at New Wave Recovery Center, RCA Danvers and Refresh, and Brigham adds a short evening program lasting two weeks. These tracks let people hold onto daytime jobs.

Do outpatient programs appear in Newsweek's rankings?

No. The ranking excludes outpatient-only programs.

Which accept MassHealth?

RCA Danvers, Washburn House and BMC Grayken accept MassHealth plans; New Wave accepts MassHealth through WellSense. McLean limits MassHealth to outpatient addiction care, and Refresh does not state its position.

Is virtual rehab available?

Yes. Refresh delivers both day treatment and IOP online to state residents, and RCA Danvers lets Massachusetts patients join its IOP remotely.

Which Program Should You Choose?

Go with New Wave Recovery Center when daily holistic practice inside a structured outpatient program is the priority.

Pick Recovery Centers of America at Danvers when withdrawal care must come first, with an evening IOP to follow.

Lean toward Washburn House when the insurance list decides the matter.

Consider McLean Hospital when psychiatric illness drives the need for care.

Look at Serenity at Summit Haverhill for a Merrimack Valley path from detox to IOP under one roof.